Rome – Part III – The Rest

 

Finally…FINALLY…almost two and a half months after my return from Spain and Italy I am FINALLY making my final blog post on the journey.  I can hardly believe it has taken this long, but I am nonetheless proud of what I have to show for it.  This final post encompasses parts of our last three days in Rome.  We took in some “must see”s such as the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps, and also ventured slightly off the beaten path to see such things as the Villa Doria Pamphili, and were not the least bit disappointed with anything we saw or did.  

 

This trip was, unquestionably, one of the best experiences of my life.  I was, however, left wanting more, as is usually the case when I travel (my mind is already set to next year and a journey through Central America). But I think that is the great think about traveling…You are appreciative of where you have been, curious of where you have not, and all the while thankful for the memories of the past and the potential of the future.

 

Ciao.

 

Closing note – all pictures from my trip to Europe can be found here.

 

The Trevi Fountain – Probably my favorite sight in Rome.

 

 

Delicious Lunch

 

Villa Doria Pamphili – a 17th century villa, now part of the largest landscapped public park in Rome.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Funny story – we decided to exit the park a different way than we entered in order to see a bit more of the area.  The only problem with this was that the exit we chose led to a very narrow, winding road that could barely fit  two lanes of traffic, let alone people.  We had to walk over a mile until there was some sort of suitable area for pedestrians.  We dubbed this – Death Road.  It was not the smartest thing I’ve ever done, as illustrated by this picture.

 

Car on Death Road

 

The Hat Club

 

At the Catacombs of San Callisto

 

Piazza del Popolo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sphynx at Piazza del Popolo

 

The Spanish Steps, which I fell down on a prior, rainy day.

 

Street Art

 

Back to the States

 

Leave a Reply

