Weekend Trip to Lancaster

 

Last weekend, Kate and Matt of Colorform, my girlfriend Ashley and I traveled back to my home in Lancaster County for the weekend to visit my family and…well…basically eat the entire time. Despite the three hour wait to get from my apartment and through the Holland Tunnel, it was a great but brief fall escape to the country. I can’t wait to return for Thanksgiving for further gorging on amazing Pennsylvania Dutch food.

 

Window Crystal

 

Breakfast at Dienner’s Country Restaurant – We headed to this Amish operated buffet Saturday morning for a traditional Pennsylvania Dutch breakfast, consisting of scrapple, pork pudding and dried beef gravy biscuits, among many other things. My family has been going to this restaurant for years, and I wanted to make sure we experienced it on our trip.

 

Lancaster Central Market – The country’s oldest continuously operating farmer’s market.

 

Vegetables

 

Fresh Jellies and Jams from Amish Family Recipes

 

The Herb Shop

 

 

Downtown Lancaster

 

Asado Lunch

 

Trees

Leave a Reply

